The FIFA World Cup since inception in 1930, hosted byUruguay has produced many great players.

Here is a list of the Top 10 Best World Cup players so far:

broken image


Lionel Messi turn out tobe the first player in World Cup history to score in the group stage, last 16,
quarter-final, semi-final and final of a single tournament, in the last World
Cup 2022, hosted by Qatar. Messi has scored thirteen times in FIFA World Cup tournaments. He scored one goal in 2006, four in 2014,when he led his team, Argentina to the final, grabbing the Golden Ball Award for
best player, one goal in 2018, and seven goals in 2022, as he captained
Argentina to its third World Cup title, where he scored two times in the final and
winning the Golden Ball for a second time, a record which he only holds now.

broken image

Johan Cruyff


Perhaps the greatest player never to have won the World Cup,the three-time Ballon d'Or winner scored three goals to assist the Netherlands make the 1974 final, falling to then West Germany. Cruyff retired in 1977, a year
before the Dutch lost in the final again to hosts Argentina in 1978.


broken image

Bobby Moore

A person ofvery great strength in England's World Cup history, Moore led the Three Lions
to victory at the 1966 World Cup on home soil. After Moore's death in 1993,
Pele said the West Ham legend was the strongest defender he ever played against
during his career.

broken image

Gerd Muller

He is one ofthe greatest goal scorers the World Cup has ever witnessed, Muller scored 10
times to help West Germany to a third-place finish in 1970 and hit four in the victorious
1974 World Cup, including the winner in the final. Muller scored 14 goals in 13
World Cup appearances for West Germany. He was like [Sergio] Aguero, a penalty area player,unbelievably agile and a real poacher. The goal that won the World Cup against
Cruyff's Holland - it epitomized Muller. The way he wriggled and turned, he was
a fantastic player. His numbers are right up there – Gary Lineker said.

broken image

Franz Beckenbauer

As captain,'Der Kaiser' led West Germany to the World Cup title on home soil in 1974, defeating
the Netherlands in the final. Beckenbauer is amongst three men (with Brazil's
Mario Zagallo and France's Didier Deschamps) who have won the World Cup as a
player and manager.

broken image

Zinedine Zidane

Zidane’s World Cup vocation began rightly, scoring twice in the final to assist France win on
home soil. Injury limited him to just one appearance in Les Bleus' pitiable
2002 defence, but he was back to his finest in Germany four years later,
inspiring Raymond Domenech's side to the final, where Zidane scored and was remarkably
sent off for head-butting Italy's Marco Materazzi in the chest as France lost
on penalties. He was nick-named Zizou.

broken image

Lothar Matthaus

Lothar is Germany'smost-capped player of all time. Matthauscaptained West Germany to victory at Italia '90, beating a Maradona-led
Argentina in the final. Matthaus is one of only three players to have played in
five World Cups and holds the record for most matches played with 25.

broken image

Ronaldo Nazario De Lima

One of the Brazilian icons, Ronaldo raised the popularWorld Cup twice: in 1994 and 2002. Even as he did not play in Brazil's 1994
win, he scored four times to assist them get to the 1998 final, where he was
left out of the line-up only to be put back before kick-off. France won that
year of 1998 but Ronaldo truly left his mark four years later, scoring eight
times - including two in the final against Germany - as Brazil got back their
status as world champions.

broken image

Diego Maradona

Akin to Pele, the late Argentine played in four World Cups, leading his country to their second World Cup in 1986. Maradona was
almost unstoppable in Mexico that year, scoring five goals, including two
against England in the quarter-final: the 'Hand of God' goal and a fantastic
individual effort that ranks among the tournament's best ever strikes. Having
lost the1990 final to West Germany, Maradona's World Cup playing profession
ended in shame in 1994 when he was sent home for not passing a drug test. Before
the emergence of Messi,

there was always that debate between Brazil and Argentina, and around the whole World who was the best - Pele or Maradona?


broken image


Noticed by many as the final World Cup player, Pele was just 17 when he assistedBrazil win the 1958 tournament in Sweden. The celebrated striker would go on to
win the 1962 and 1970 World Cups too, winning the Golden Ball for best player
at the 1970 World Cup. Pele scored 12 goals in 14 World Cup matches across four
tournaments for Brazil.